Learning how to use a telephoto lens

Over the weekend, I loaned out a 400mm telephoto lens, to experiment with and hopefully widen my knowledge of the different lenses. After my lens and lighting workshop, I learnt that telephoto is predominantly used in wildlife, landscape, sport and any form of photography from a distance. Because of this, that’s exactly what I used it for. These first images are taken with my kit lens:

And these are the same sorts of photographs taken with the telephoto:

The first thing I noticed was the depth the telephoto gave the image. With the kit lens, the buildings through hyde park, despite seeming quite vibrant have quite a shallow depth of field, and seems to focus the objects that are closer or compositionally ‘central’ with the shot. The same can be said with the path photographs, where a much deeper and defined look is given off in the telephoto images, seemingly taking all aspects that make the image into account (i.e. nearly every tree down the path is in focus on the latter). Furthermore, and what seemed to really differentiate it for me was when I was attempting some wildlife shots. The telephoto made it seemThe telephoto seemed almost like it was made for it, making every shot I took look crisp and detailed, whereas I struggled to get a shot close enough to the bird, let alone a clear shot. I was stunned at how much a change of a lens affects photography. Trying to take wildlife photos also taught me the extent and how useful the use of the zoom the telephoto has to offer is. I also had a go at taking some extreme distance shots, as shown with the plane and learnt that I needed to increase the aperture to dim the glare of the daytime sky.

 

 

Leave a Reply

