Kevin Best

The basic premise of Best’s images is what caught my eye, mainly being the realistically modern contrasting classical sense. The only thing about the final image of the skull that tells us this has been shot in recent times is the picture quality. If this was painted for instance I don’t think anyone would be able to determine the period of time it was created without some sort of context. Capturing this sense is similar to what I’d like, though with my images I am clearly going to have the items on show to be the giveaway, being almost humorously obvious with it. I almost notice a degree of humour with Best’s work, in this idea of mimicking this old, significant form of still art.

Leave a Reply

